angel dust

we all adore the toddler he staggers hopelessly around

we giggle to ourselves when he collapses on the ground

takes the early steps on life’s great marathon today

because the universe won’t have it any other way

 

it may take precious time up to come to terms with us

and I find you’ve grown up now as everybody does

there are other doors to open don’t you be afraid

there’s no point in dwelling on if we should’ve stayed

 

and I find myself humming melodies

takes a large wave nowadays to bring me to my knees

if I missed a thankyou then I will beg you please

that we carry on just as we are

that we savour what’s brought us this far

 

look up and you’ll see me

I’m shooting angel dust from my star

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Health, love, Philosophy, Poetry

One response to “angel dust

  1. “if I missed a thankyou then I will beg you please
    that we carry on just as we are
    that we savour what’s brought us this far”

    Taking time to smell the flowers may not always happen, or thanking them for it 🙂 Still… I really liked this one too!

Leave a Reply

