one for the road

I know cos I’m sensing it’s so

that the gas plant is going to blow

gunpowder Lily has a drink in her hand

saxophone Charlie owes the gaffer a grand

feel the night owls itching  for a fight

made of tougher leather round here

and I ain’t even tasted my beer

 

One’s coming over scowling at me

Cos I’ve invaded their damned privacy

Man you’d think the locals were the only breed

that cashed in tourism on their tumbleweed

their sort never have mouths to feed

it ain’t safe round here I hear

and I ain’t even half down this beer 

 

The jukebox been broke  since day one

don’t charge anything for its song 

and it’s gathering dust to the tune of a busker

that earns his few coins for the grunts he can muster

I tell you his voice is as rough as my boots

yet these creatures continue to leer

and I’m feeling the effects of my beer

 

Wendy’s got one foot right out of her shoe

torn tights of days gone seems proud of them too

Wandering Joe’ says he’ll move on by next May

Lenny laughs sunshine that’ll be the day

when he buys the wheels to get him out of this town

I can feel the haze floating just near

and I’m onto my next last cold beer 

 

  

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under daily, Fun, music, Poetry, Travel

6 responses to “one for the road

  1. creatively beautiful.

    How are you today?

    Happy end of November!

    Appreciated your support to our poetry picnic,

    Hope to see you share today,

    A random poem or old poem will do the wonders too.

    Your talent rocks.

    Hope to see you in.

    xoxox

  2. funny! – I love the last line of every stanza – very rhythmic motion – nicely don!

  3. notice that you won the perfect poet award for poets rally week 57, welcome take it,

    join us any time when you are free.

    outstanding poetry along the way, truly enjoyed your lasting support.

    keep rocking.
    smiles.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

