what goes up

I could take you up in a hot air balloon

and you may well tell me that I’ve jumped in too soon

for the way that you’ve been looking down on the world

rings a bell in my head of how it’s going to unfurl

 

now I’m feeling so dizzy I’m up to my eyes

in a fleeting sensation of strawberry skies

the red lights are flashing as your mouth forms your words

in a blur like a monkey speaking chirrups of birds

 

now I haven’t a clue what to do

absurdity chases reality around the room

my rational order is juxtapose

in the mirror I’m wearing the emperor’s clothes

 

did they tell you about the red sky in the morning?

 

 

 

 

 

24 Comments

Filed under daily, Poetry

24 responses to “what goes up

  1. I like how you ended this, and the use of red throughout as a motif – especially strawberry skies. Nice work.

  2. love the red sky imagery, well done.

    🙂

  3. strawberry skies is a yummy line.

    🙂

  4. The idea of the hot air balloon had me feeling light right from the beginning, Tigercity! 🙂 Good poem!

    • Hi Leslie! yes the hot air balloon relates the the feeling you get when someone is flirting with you.. this was the inspiration behind the poem.. there was a married woman who was drunk and she was being naughty & suggestive.. I can honestly say I resisted her temptations.. it’s a close knit community and I know her husband a little!

  5. This entire stanza flowed beautifully!
    “now I’m feeling so dizzy I’m up to my eyes
    in a fleeting sensation of strawberry skies
    the red lights are flashing as your mouth forms your words
    in a blur like a monkey speaking chirrups of birds”

    A wonderful part of a beautiful poem, thanks!

  6. I love how the poem starts … that feeling of soaring and being high.

  7. Nel

    absurdity chases reality around the room
    Applicable to many situations in real life. Delectable poem and very enjoyable. 🙂

  8. This flowed really well and felt jolly. Lovely descriptions.

  9. Most times you know well in advance how its going to unfurl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

