Timeless Melody

There is always a song playing inside my head..

This music is something which is always with me and even though I’m not a musician,  I can’t imagine being the same without it there.

However, I can’t really be without it as I can’t turn it off; what’s more I don’t think I’d want to even if I could.

Now, I don’t know if I’m opening myself up to being labelled crazy, mad or a tinnie short of a six-pack but everyday without question, there’s a play-list endlessly rolling out tunes without any apparent conscious decision on my part. What’s also strange is that I don’t even particularly like some of them and they wouldn’t be welcome in my record collection. 

In fact many of my tracks go on for hours as far as I’m aware, they may even be subject to slight modifications and are looped and re-mastered. In effect they offer a gentle soundtrack to my daily life.

The name of this latest post ‘Timeless Melody’ is actually the song which is playing right now and the subject of the song is exactly what I’m discussing here. It was recorded by The La’s and has to rank as one of my all-time favourites. Not only because it means something profound in my life but it says exactly what I feel. Some songs have the ability to do that and they’re the ones you keep going back to, produce a reaction in you or even move or shake you emotionally.

There are occasions when I can’t get to sleep at night as the miniature concert rolls on. It doesn’t tire me, in fact it’s not even noticeable during the daytime. To be honest most of it is probably in my sub-conscience. I’m none too sure of the reasons and underlying explanations, it’s just there.

I’ve never asked anybody else if they live with the same phenomenon, if that’s what you can call it. It would be interesting to know.

Maybe it’s relaxing, maybe it’s just a memory trick, it doesn’t matter to me, the most precious quality that it offers is the rhythm of life.

When you think about it, we have a body clock, clocks need a regular beat, music requires it too and therefore perhaps it’s an inherent function of our body to have something keep the rhythm going.

Jim Morrison hit the nail on the head, ‘Music is your special friend, dance on fire as  it intends, music is your only friend, until the end…’

So when the music’s over, turn off the lights..

2 Comments

Filed under music

2 responses to “Timeless Melody

  1. Jim Andris

    I will comment on this. This used to be true of me, but is no longer. I’d say from my teens to maybe my middle thirties. The extra twist in my case is that since I play the piano, I could pretty much play the melody and harmony that I was/am listening to. When this was going on, I too would have trouble falling asleep.

    So what stopped it? Well, I became a professor when I was in my 30s, and I was forced to think about other things, so the mental music kind of died out. I will still occasionally hear a song playing but it doesn’t go on and on. Actually, I still love music, but unless I specifically want to listen to something, now I don’t even like to have it in the background. Too distracting.

    Oh, one more thing. I’ve been an SRF meditator for 30 years now. One of the disciplines is clearing your mind of all thoughts. But I used to have to do that with the music, too. So I learned gradually over the years to turn it off.

    Currently working on two Beethoven sonatas and 4 rags.

  2. Phil Newman

    This does happen to me too – in varying degrees. Then again, there can also be recent conversations I’ve had going round my head, or things I’ve heard on the tele or radio. Normally though, day-to-day thoughts and sounds wash over it all and they only really surface when I’ve switched off i.e. during dreams.
    Actually, these days, when I do have time to lie back and engage in some peaceful cloud or star-gazing, it’s guitar pieces that I’ve learnt that tend to surface and I can’t help but visualize changing chord/fingering positions at the same. This is true even for pieces I haven’t played for many years. But they say the same for the old who suffer from dementia i.e. they lose their short term but keep their long term memories.
    Perhaps you should take up a musical instrument yourself and try to capture those sounds you hear. You’ve obviously got a musical ear.

Leave a Reply

