Digital Nonesense

Rant of the day..

If you’ve been keeping up to date with events in the ‘file sharing’ world, you’ll have noticed that there have been a rising number of lawsuits involving governments, websites and artists surrounding this topic.

A couple of contradictory results I came across  in the last couple of weeks were…

1.  Sweden: The site owners of the website ‘The Pirate Bay’ being sent to prison for providing links to media files availible for torrent downloading.

2. France: A  proposed new law permitting the government to send out warning letters to file sharers, cut off their internet access for a year and gain more access to people’s personal information was blocked in the parliament – apparently not enough MPs turned up to vote in the law; perhaps they were busy enjoying their long lunches?

It seems that there is still too much inconsistency in this issue and the laws in place are too ambiguous to impliment for the enforcers.

Then you only have to imagine the total amount of internet traffic, the numbers of people participating in file-sharing, streaming etc. that the powers that be have got their hands full if they truly think they can put an end to such activity.

It seems to me that the brains on the web will always be one step ahead; they’ll figure out ways and means to dodge barriers and undermine new laws.

Which brings me to my sore point. I’m a music lover and I possess an mp3 player. However when I attempted to transfer music files onto it, the device stated that I didn’t have the license…

Is it having a laugh?

Now I’m miffed because we’re talking about an album of songs which I’d put on my PC from a CD which I purchased from a shop. That’s to say, I bloody well own the original and yet my mp3 refuses to allow me to copy the songs onto it !

Conversely (and here’s the rub), I’m perfectly sure I’d be able to copy tracks onto it if I’d downloaded  them from the internet and needless to say I wouldn’t have bought them either and wouldn’t know the sources.

So the little message here is that I’m being driven underground if I want to transfer freely my music. I can listen to my ‘Real People’ album on my CD player and on my PC but not on my mp3…

I’m a traditionalist in the sense that I prefer to have the physical version of my music in my collection in the CD rack; some might say I’m out of date and could get it all for free. But my point is that I’m limiting my capabilities by ‘playing by the rules’. So why should we?

Until the laws on this subject actually mean anything worthwhile, they don’t seem to be worth the paper they’re written on.

1 Comment

Filed under music

One response to “Digital Nonesense

  1. ichabod

    Hi tigercity;

    This post hits home with me as well.

    To me music is something I enjoy, but I prefer the sounds of live music to that of recorded music, although I enjoy that as well.

    Music is special, but no different than a home.

    A carpenter uses a saw and hammer to build a house and it is unique. Is it protected under copyright law?

    No.

    I can use the ideas and build a home like it.

    Music to me is the same. Words and a score should not demand the attention that is given to it by law. Little do politicians realize, the people who make music do it because they love it.

    I do not begrudge artists making millions. I have a problem with government not allowing people to share music.

    When you buy a CD it is yours. There is no “license” or agreement that you signed at point of purchase to enforce a “copyright”.

    It is public domain in my eyes as soon as it is released for sale to the public.

Leave a Reply

